So guys, I've been playing without an amp for a while now. I always just used my high school's Fender Frontman 212R during breaks but since I graduated I no longer have that option.

I play indie rock so I need some good cleans.
I also play progessive rock and thrash metal. I'll be using this amp just for practice.

I heard some people use a Line 6 POD and just plug in their headphones.

Truth be told, I have no idea what to get. My budget is $200-$300. I can raise it to $450 ONLY IF NECESSARY.

Thanks guys.
If Rock is a life-style, then Metal's an addiction

Yelloooow!

Of The

UG Challenge

Tube Vypyr for that kind of range in tones.
Ibanez SIR27
Pod HD500x

RIP:
Mesa Boogie Roadster 2x12 combo
Cmatmods analog chorus, phaser, tremoglo, signa drive, butah, and deeelay
walrus Audio Descent
2 channel version of the Jet City 20w combo. Take a look at it.
Squier Strat
Behringer Fuzz
GFT-90
^if he plays mostly the progressive/heavy stuff. If cleans are that important I doubt the Jet City will do too well. Ive only played the single channel and Im sure there is a difference, but for just practicing and wanting to get all kinds of different sounds for cheap, its hard to beat the tube vypyr.
Ibanez SIR27
Pod HD500x

RIP:
walrus Audio Descent
Quote by bluestratplayer
^if he plays mostly the progressive/heavy stuff. If cleans are that important I doubt the Jet City will do too well. Ive only played the single channel and Im sure there is a difference, but for just practicing and wanting to get all kinds of different sounds for cheap, its hard to beat the tube vypyr.

I thought the cleans were good on it

I agree with your suggestion anyways. Probably the best practice amp in his price range, along with plenty of effects.

It will max out his budget to $450 though.
Squier Strat
Behringer Fuzz
GFT-90