I've been wanting a nice strat ever since I started playing guitar, even when I got my PRS. I've upgraded my Squier to a small degree but now I have a small bit of money and I want to do something significant.

My plan was to buy a new bridge and block, new electronics, custom shop pickups and a MIM neck. All of which would run about $500. Basically only the guard and body would still be Squier. I realize this would "kill the value" but I don't care. Even whole used strats aren't that valuable and it's something I would keep.

While I was discussing this with my friend, he suggested that I simply buy a MIM Fender. Do any of you see any advantage to this? I could see having a guitar that was made as one piece potentially being an advantage...But the pickups wouldn't be as nice.
Winner of the 2011 Virginia Guitar Festival

Protools HD
Lynx Aurora 16/HD192
Mojave, Sennheiser, AKG, EV etc mics
Focusrite ISA828 pres
Waves Mercury
Random Rack Gear

65 Deluxe Reverb
PRS CE 22
American Standard Strat
Taylor 712
You might as well just buy it new. It would probably be cheaper and you wouldn't have to put all that work into it.
Quote by Diamond Dave

Things that restored my faith in humanity this year: 26
Things that removed all faith in humanity this year: 1,563,745,234 (estimated)

so that's a result of -1,563,745,208 faith points in humanity lost, which is actually up from last year!
Quote by thrashdeth
You might as well just buy it new. It would probably be cheaper and you wouldn't have to put all that work into it.

Prices are the same and I don't mind the work, I like it infact. Looking for something not price/value/labor related.

Protools HD
Lynx Aurora 16/HD192
Focusrite ISA828 pres
Waves Mercury
Random Rack Gear

65 Deluxe Reverb
PRS CE 22
American Standard Strat
Taylor 712
Quote by Artemis Entreri
Prices are the same and I don't mind the work, I like it infact. Looking for something not price/value/labor related.