I've been playing for roughly 7 years and I've been in bands, but I've never been responsible for recording myself until now. I don't know much about it at all, as you can tell. I have an SM57 and plan on picking up an SM58 as well. I'd like to be able to record the instruments myself, one by one, but if possible also record a five person band playing live. I have a Macbook with audacity. I'm not sure what other information you need.

I'm not looking for "proffessional" recording quality necessarily, in my eyes the quality of something like The Horror's Primary Colours or Arcade Fire's Funeral are near perfect, but a lot of the albums I'm listening to and emulating aren't even that good (The Strokes, White Stripes, Youth Lagoon, ect). If I could get anywhere close to touching at home then that's what I'm looking for, if I can only do demo's at home then I'll live with that. My budget is $300-400, if I don't need much more but I can get the quality on those albums, then tell me I guess. Sorry that I really don't know anything about this, I looked at the sticky but I was still left with questions. Thanks to all
The short answer is interface.

That said, you could maybe use a mixer to record your whole group playing together through a mixer into an interface and from that into your computer, but if you plan on doing it one at a time, you're best getting a good USB interface.

From what I know about mics, if you've got an SM57 you don't need an SM58 because their frequency response and just about everything else are the same (I'll check that).
*queue Gary*
Quote by Cathbard
You don't need epic tone in the bedroom any more than you need mood lighting to masturbate.