Hi.
My name is Stephanie and I am new to this forum.

I am not a guitar player but I am hoping to learn the instrument in the near future. Along with my mum and dad I am planning to buy an electric guitar for Christmas.

As I am a novice as I was hoping that people here may be able to offer me some advice in regards to my current choice of guitar. My mum and dad are thinking of buying a guitar package deal from a local musical store in Northern Ireland for £300 which will include: 1) A Westfield E4500 deluxe (Gibson style Les Paul); 2) A 15 Watt Amplifier; 3) Accessories including; a) guitar strap; b) spare strings; c) electric tuner kit; d) a guitar bag; and e) a beginners tutorial DVD.

I love the look of the guitar and I hope that it is well suited to a beginner but has anyone ever had any experience with this particular guitar? I would really appreciate any advice which can be offered and if you think this is a good deal.

Thanks very much : )
What kind of music would you be looking to try and play?
Quote by dann_blood
Proof he's a communist! He finally comes out, the nazi!
Personally when it comes to starter packs, it is often a better option to not go for them and buy all the gear you need seperatly. That way, you know exactly what you're getting and that you know you're getting the most out of your money.
Quote by Axelfox
Reeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Quote by H4T3BR33D3R
I also have to do that. Cottaging this weekend
What would be there max budget?
you can get better then westfield at 300 IMO but go slightly higher and you'll get even nicer
please don't let your parents buy a westfield for £300. I don't know what they're like now, but i borrowed a mate's westfield when i was starting to play (10-11 years ago), and it really was terribad.

What type(s) of music do you want to play?