So im learning "wonderfull slippery thing" by amazing guitarist guthire govan.
Ill be improvising in the verses.
Chord progression:
Bm7-D9-Gmaj7-F#7

Im fairly new to jazz stuff, so what shuld i play over it i know its a 1-3-6-5 progression in Bm, but what cool notes/scales can i add to spesific chords? Im starting to learn altered+lydian dominant scale, can i use them?
Thanks!
I'd primarily suggest taking the chord tone approach. I wouldn't think of it as there being any special scales to play over each chord. Just stick to Bm and follow the changes. The main thing that is likely to add some spice and make it jazzy is tastefully using chromaticism in your lines around the changes.

Sorry if this seems like a non-answer. There's not too much to say when it comes to telling someone miles away what to play over a given set of changes, other than to play notes that fit the changes.
Quote by Usernames sucks
but what cool scales can i add to spesific chords? Im starting to learn altered+lydian dominant scale, can i use them?
Thanks!

The Lydian Dominant scale is used for non-functioning dominant chords. The Altered Scale is great over the F#7 though.
Last edited by mdc at Nov 16, 2011,
Good that you know the progression is in B minor, and because it's going by so quickly, in my opinion, the altered sounds you can use over this progression are limited.

As a basic guide, B minor pentatonic will work great over the whole thing, turn up the shred.

As far as the altered notes, I wouldn't necissarily think in terms of scales, more as chord tones that you can (or not) choose to use.

Because dominant chords are our main chords we like to use altered notes over I'll adress those first.