I'm wondering this because I've read about people who have learnt these techniques in few motnhs or recently after picking up the guitar. Others have been practising for years and still can master it.

I've been playing for 4 years and started listening to shredding 8 months ago. I started playing two and a half months ago. My speed, knowledge and technique have improved but aren't good enough. I couldnt play live & clean and I still miss notes on songs such as Far Byn the Sun. What does mastering shredding depend on? btw I play as much as I can during the day
Quote by YYMMalmsteen
I'm wondering this because I've read about people who have learnt these techniques in few motnhs or recently after picking up the guitar. Others have been practising for years and still can master it.

I've been playing for 4 years and started listening to shredding 8 months ago. I started playing two and a half months ago. My speed, knowledge and technique have improved but aren't good enough. I couldnt play live & clean and I still miss notes on songs such as Far Byn the Sun. What does mastering shredding depend on? btw I play as much as I can during the day

"Mastering" something requieres around 10,000 hours of deliberate practice.
Quote by Hail
i'm the internet equivalent of ripping the skin off my face and strangling you with it right now

Quote by Steve Albini
Remixing is for talentless pussies who don't know how to tune a drum or point a microphone.
how ever long it takes u and how much u practice. im in my 7 year of playing, but i dont practice regularly. i dont shred yet lol. practice a lot if u get the time and it will come
How longs a piece of string?

It really depends on the individual.

But!! If you get your technique good from the start, practice regularly and efficiently, balancing out all the elements well, you can make a big jump in about 9 months I feel.

But don't priorities speed. Prioritise being musical.