I've been playing the guitar for four years now but I've yet to really learn how to create my own solo. I sadly live in a very metal guitarist deprived area, so I was never really able to find much of help. Yes, there's the internet and things already made out, but I rather speak to people through like a forum like this. I also have very limited access to the internet and I can not always be on it to look up guitar things. I'm asking for help to create MELODIC death metal and heavy metal solo's, perhaps a very informative and helpful site? A video I may download? Anything of the sort as long as it may help tremendously. I thank you in advance.

ಠ_ಠ
Last edited by stefanomire at Nov 16, 2011,
First learn how to play some death metal solos that you like, and then analyse them - which notes do they play, whats the rhythm guitar doing (figure out a progression). Try to replicate some aspects of it that you like.
And remember, it's not about the scales, but how you use them.
Play random notes. Tremelo pick non stop. Boom. Death Metal. If you want REAL metal lead playing. Listen to Dimebag Darrell.
Quote by piszczel
First learn how to play some death metal solos that you like, and then analyse them - which notes do they play, whats the rhythm guitar doing (figure out a progression). Try to replicate some aspects of it that you like.
And remember, it's not about the scales, but how you use them.

that's how my mind set has always been. I never really cared for scales. music shouldn't be something following predefined rules, it should be something from the soul
ಠ_ಠ
Quote by Fear The Abyss
Play random notes. Tremelo pick non stop. Boom. Death Metal. If you want REAL metal lead playing. Listen to Dimebag Darrell.

I believe you are mistaken with deathcore
ಠ_ಠ
Quote by Fear The Abyss

The thing is with death metal, its an acquired taste. Some of the solos in death metal songs are actaully very good, even if theres very little melody in the song itself.