I know this belongs on the musician forums but I've noticed that the chances of me getting help may be much higher in the pit since there are many more people viewing it. I actually do have thread of the same name in the musician's area. Mod's, please don't lock this, you could never know if you find something very helpful towards your guitar playing in this thread (assuming you are a guitarist since this is a guitar based website)

this is what my other thread said:

I've been playing the guitar for four years now but I've yet to really learn how to create my own solo. I sadly live in a very metal guitarist deprived area, so I was never really able to find much of help. Yes, there's the internet and things already made out, but I rather speak to people through like a forum like this. I also have very limited access to the internet and I can not always be on it to look up guitar things. I'm asking for help to create death metal and heavy metal solo's, perhaps a very informative and helpful site? A video I may download? Anything of the sort as long as it may help tremendously. I thank you in advance.

ಠ_ಠ
umm. learn scales. learn chord progressions. play parts of those scales in the key of the progression.
iron FUCKING maiden!!!
alternate pick chromatic scales, legato harmonic minor scales, sweep minor arpeggios, tap diminished 7th arpeggios, and whammy abuse until all your strings break. no notes other than the whammied notes should be held for more than the duration of a 16th note, and melody of any kind is expressly forbidden, less you incur the wrath of Pat O'Brien. play with as much distortion as possible, plenty of delay, reverb, and chorus, and (if desired) abuse your wah pedal heavily. for bonus points, name your solo, something like "Festering Corpserot." hope that helps.
There's no such thing; there never was. Where I am going you cannot follow me now.
Quote by stefanomire