Ok so I've been playing guitar for almost three years now, I know all the pentatonic positions. And the basic position for a couple modes. How the hell am I supposed to use this information to piece together a song? I know it sounds dumb, but how am I supposed to write several riffs that can go together in the same key? Is there rules and whatnot that tell me what chords and notes I can use next, if so what are they? I play metal, how can I effectively use a pentatonic for it? Or should I learn a completely new scale and all of it's positions? I'm just stuck.. I don't know what I'm supposed to learn. I'm trying to start a band, I have no real problems with technical playing and learning songs, but I don't understand the rules behind writing I feel like there's much more to it than just playing shit from the scale in chords then soloing out of a key, I've become rather good at improv, but I don't want to only improv solos anymore, I want to write elaborate songs now. HELP ME, point me in the right direction.
Bestow upon me magic
Wizard, all knowing, all wise (solo)
I want to rule this kingdom
Make sweet the breeze now defiled (solo)
Dethrone the evil prince's iron fists
In velvet gloves of sin (solo)
Play an A5 Diad, Play Am Pentatonic. There you have a song. Define Elaborate... Elaborate could mean composing atonal pieces to playing chormatic notes over a given key. Basically, YOU define what you want... not ME. Learning theory allows you to explain things and compose pieces in a style given you want to compose classical/jazz. If you think you should learn theory; do it.
I'm not the best at writing songs, and I haven't written many, but I wouldn't approach things from a theory first, music second point of view.