i started learning guitar about 11 months ago, and am self taught as well as gotten plenty of help from my other friends who play guitar. as of right now i can alternate pick and gallop pick very well as well as play a varitety of types of chords, barre chords still give me a bit of trouble here and there, i have learned how to play fade to black, angry again, enter sandman seek and destroy (minus solos) as far as whole songs go and can play many other riffs. My only concern is either than enter sandman which is easy i have a hard time playing the others perfect, am i not progessing well if i can't play these songs perfect after practicing them off and on for the past 8 months , any tips would be appreciated
If you're progressing at all then it's all good. There is no right speed to move forward at because everyone learns in different ways.

Quite aside from which there's no way for us to know how good you actually are just from you telling us what you think you can do, if we could see or hear you play we might very well disagree with you about what you can do.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
get a guitar teacher like me lol, im 16 and been playing for 5 years i think
If you want people to tell you how you're doing then they need to hear or see you play - so you'll need to post a video or some mp3's to your profile otherwise i'll have to lock the thread.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
if you can play that sort of stuff, you probably have a reasonable grasp of the basic skills.