I have been wanting to upgrade my equipment for quite some time.
I currently have:
-Schecter Damien FR
-Peavey Vypyr 75

I got so sick of modeling and care less and less for the effects every day. The next piece of gear I get is going to be a Mesa Mark Combo. Still haven't decided between the MK IV or the MK V, but thats another issue.

I am also getting weary of my current guitar. I wouldn't say that it is a bad guitar, it just isnt what I'm really into. I got it as an upgrade from the BC Rich Son of a Best (my first guitar and purely an asthetic choice ). I had been playing for a year or so and when I was in guitar center one day I decided to mess around with some stuff. When I played the Damien I fell in love with it. It was so much better in every way than my SOB. I have been plyaing for close to 5 years and feel uninspired and like I need something to spark my interest again. So now I'm here asking you guys for some advice.

I play predominantly metal. (examples would be: Lamb of God, Pantera, Tyr, Amon Amarth, Tool, John Petrucci's solo album).
I often dabble in rock (examples would be: Alice in Chains, Danzig, Godsmack, Rush, Pearl Jam).
Mostly metal but I like to dial back the gain and even play clean sometimes.

I dont want EMG pickups. I have the passive ones in my schecter but I'm really not looking for that sound anymore. I'm actually considering swapping the stock Pups of whatever I get with Bareknuckle Pups. I've heard they are pretty good for metal.

I'm not really picky on the wood. The damien has a basswood body and it seems kindof heavy, I wouldn't know if thats why though. I'm a noob.
Same with the neck. I will say that the neck on my Schecter is what drove it home when I first started but I don't care for it so much anymore. I play mostly rhythm stuff, while dabbling in lead work every so often but isnt my priority, so I don't know how I want my neck profile. Bolt on/Set is largely irrelevent to me.