Hey so I recently got a mic and started recording vocals for my songs. I have been singing off and on for about a couple years. I am self taught, I would practice along to videos by sbgalt on youtube (good stuff). Right now I'm just practicing along to scales on my guitar and recording myself. From what I hear of my own singing is that I'm quite pitchy and my voice seems thin/immature. I know all about singing with your diaphragm, but as to if I'm doing it properly, I'm really not sure, I also practice along to scales to impove my pitch but I'm not getting the best results. I really want to be able to sing well so I can get my songs to sound the best they possibly can.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Heres a couple of songs of mine here
http://soundcloud.com/bleakperfect

Thanks!
Your voice sounds very weak because you are singing using your throat, instead of your diaphragm. It is also very pitchy.

You should practice singing properly in your natural voice and learn how to sing from your diaphragm.
The music is quite loud so it's a bit hard to hear your singing, but here are my observations:

- Your pronunciation is quite shallow. By shallow, I mean that the words are sounding from right at the front of the mouth. Why is this bad? It's because shallow pronunciation tends to clamp everything down in the throat and consequently your sound is squeezed. Ideally, you want to pronounce at the larynx, but at this point in time, it's helpful to experiment with different depths of pronunciation. Play with the extremes, where very shallow is a very annoying person pronouncing right at the mouth and very deep is the sound of a bad opera singer. Notice that pronouncing at the mouth sounds "bright" and pronouncing at the very back of the throat sounds "dark". When you pronounce at the larynx, your tone will be bright and dark i.e. full, but with good intelligibility.