hello folks,

i found a pretty nice guitar body from a friend and he luckily didnt want it
so i wanted to start building my first guitar on my own

a few first questions from a newbie (so pls dont flame )

is it reasonable to take off the lacquer? ( i actually like the heavy natural relic, the colour is blurred naturally at many parts, but there are also some scratches and you can see the pickup holes are damaged)

and do i have to put clear coat on it, or in general have to renew the lacquer anyway?? im kinda confused

and because i have to buy nearly everything (neck, tremolo bridge etc..), could you recommend me good quality guitar parts? thx in advance here

i guess there are still many things (and maybe questions and answers) open, but as i said i have no knowledge, but i would love to achieve some knowledge, because i like to craft things on my own
Attachments:
8001114201140002471.jpg
Last edited by c0rn1x at Nov 22, 2011,
cool thx for the weblinks

but now for example how do i know what neck passes best to this guitar body?
Looks like an Ibanez body. You'll probably want to look at Floyd compatible necks, at least if you want a Floyd on it. It was most likely a 24 fret neck with a 25.5" scale length.

Also keep in mind that it has an AANJ, all access neck joint so you need to be careful choosing a neck that fits it correctly. You might want to hit Ebay and find a used Ibanez neck from a 500 series or higher.
Last edited by poppameth at Nov 22, 2011,
yea i actually prefer a floyd rose bridge..

Quote by poppameth
Also keep in mind that it has an AANJ, all access neck joint so you need to be careful choosing a neck that fits it correctly. You might want to hit Ebay and find a used Ibanez neck from a 500 series or higher.

does it make a difference of which ibanez neck i take? how do i recognize if its a floyd compatible neck??

thx a lot.. anyways!