hi all, i was wondering if i could run my 6505 plus with my 5150 4 12 slant cab. i'm fairly new to the head cab field. i don't know the watts on the cab or how much it can take. any help would be great. thanks
Attachments:
IMAG0745.jpg
Don"t Be A Bitch.
but if the amp is under powered will it hurt anything? and this is a bit humbling but which jack do i plug into on the cab? or does it matter...
Don"t Be A Bitch.
You don't want the cab to be overpowered by the amp. Since the cab can handle, I am guessing, 120W from the normal head, the combo should be fine I believe. You have to connect the speaker out from the combo to the input on the cab matching the ohms from the amplifier. Mono I believe. So if the combo is running at 8ohms per se, you need to be connected to the 8ohms mono on the cabinet. I don't know what options the cab has.
Again I dont think there is such a thing as underpowering a cab, but I can be completely wrong. If you wanted to connect both the cab and the combos internal speakers you would want to make sure (and hopefully someone else can verify) what connecting two speaker cables would do (work in parallel or series).
ya, i'm a bit in the boondocks so getting outside help without the internet is a bit of a task. i do know that the amp has parallel output jacks. the cab is pretty old with out many labels.

I just tried it and all the speakers had output. I didn't crank it our anything.

then also you were saying that the 2 different inputs in the back of the cab are for different ohm outputs? and if so do you switch when you change your impedance
Don"t Be A Bitch.
Quote by southpaw_tdg
ya, i'm a bit in the boondocks so getting outside help without the internet is a bit of a task. i do know that the amp has parallel output jacks. the cab is pretty old with out many labels.

I just tried it and all the speakers had output. I didn't crank it our anything.