OK, well, I started playing guitar at age 9 (currently 15)...but the problem is, I started out playing acoustic, which is great, I love acoustic, but my TRUE love is metal. So 6 years hasn't made much progress, and I'm watching guys with 2 years of experience smoke my skills.

I think I have enough experience to pick it up rather quickly, but I just don't know where to start....do I just start learning a bunch of songs? I need some help, and I think I came to the right place.

Thanks in advance,
-Zeb
learn a bunch of songs and try noodling around with techniques ppl you like use in metal
Quote by Weaponxclaws
Well, it depends on your definition of metal. You're 16 so I'm gonna go on a limb and guess it's not correct.

What...?

Take your elitist ass somewhere else and have fun sitting on internet forums for hours debating whether or not a song is "metal" or not. Oh and for the love of god, he stated he was 15. Not only are you pretentious, but your are clearly brain dead.

Now to get on topic;

Your best bet would be to try learning the songs which you really are fond of! Since you've been playing for 6 years you should easily adapt to the 'style' of how metal is generally played.

May take a while to get used to, although it really shouldn't be much different from the current skill level you are at now. Sooner or later, it will become second nature to you.
ESP Horizon NT-II
Schecter Hellraiser C-1
Peavey 6505
Orange PPC412
Maxon OD808
ISP Decimator G-String
Boss TU3
Quote by Mopy
What...?

Take your elitist ass somewhere else and have fun sitting on internet forums for hours debating whether or not a song is "metal" or not. Oh and for the love of god, he stated he was 15. Not only are you pretentious, but your are clearly brain dead.

Now to get on topic;

Your best bet would be to try learning the songs which you really are fond of! Since you've been playing for 6 years you should easily adapt to the 'style' of how metal is generally played.