Hello all.

I'm fairly new to mixing. I want to learn about EQ'ing, Compression, Reverb etc etc. The basics.

Can anybody link me to a website/book/video(s) which contain this information?

Thank you.
Audiotuts
Sound On Sound
Recording Review
Tweak Headz
Home Studio Corner

All great sites with invaluable advice. The best way to learn is hands-on, obviously. I was lucky enough to find and join a newly built recording studio for young people which boosted my knowledge/experience way more than just reading/tweaking at home - see if you can do something similar?
Last edited by demon.guitarist at Nov 28, 2011,
Quote by demon.guitarist
Audiotuts
Sound On Sound
Recording Review
Tweak Headz
Home Studio Corner

All great sites with invaluable advice. The best way to learn is hands-on, obviously. I was lucky enough to find and join a newly built recording studio for young people which boosted my knowledge/experience way more than just reading/tweaking at home - see if you can do something similar?

I've got some of my own gear to mix on, but my town doesn't have a music scene and the two studios that are here don't offer that sort of thing.

Thank you for the websites, I'll check them out. I feel like I can mix okay, but I just need guidelines you know? Me and others I guess.
My tip is to imagine that the whole process of recording is a blank sheet before you. First you record a part which adds a rough and edgy block to the blank before you. Then you add another recorded part, adding a new block but it overlaps the previous. Add more etc which all overlap. Then you take a block, place it on a new place on the sheet (panning). Then you start to soften the edges (equalizing). Then you decide where and what to add to shape it into a musical product (post-processing). At least this helped me a lot, might not seem clearly comprehensive right now but try it out on an empty sheet of paper