I've played acoustic for about a year now and I've decided to move up in the world and invest in an amp as I've recently acquired an Epiphone dot.

It sounds sweet on my friends tube amp, Vox (lil night stalker?) but he himself is a tube and I never take any advice he gives which has served to my benefit many times and has even saved my life more than once.

Anyway, back to topic, I'm not willing to invest £500 or whatever in a 'good' amp when it's really only a side project and as I'm a complete and utter newb at all things electric guitar I humbly ask your opinions.

I realise you probably get this question a lot so I've narrowed it down to these two specific amps.

The Vox one mentioned earlier (is it called lil night stalker?) or the Epiphone valve junior hot rod. I heard these heads can bring out the best in a semi hollow body (or what ever the dot is).

Also i know i need a speaker cabinet but I'm not too sure how much i should dish out on one but i don't need a big one (maybe a 1x12 if that is such a thing)

I apologise for any wrong terminology's i have used but i am completely new to this. Thankyou for your patience.

Edit: It's called lil night train!.... I'm a little disappointed to be honest, Night Stalker just sounds so damn cool
Last edited by A Shaved Wookie at Nov 28, 2011,
Night Stalker is one of these....

2nd hand AC15 would be a good amp for you.

1977 Burny FLG70
2004 EBMM JP6
2016 SE Holcolmb
^^^

Get a night stalker....you don't need an amp.
Quote by FEngHLyan

She will join the prom.

She insists to wear this lights.

I don't think so.

How can I persuade her?
"he himself is a tube"
lol gotta love calling people tubes!
AC15 sounds pretty good and i'd assume you're not playing anything heavy since you got a dot but it would help if you gave us an idea of some tones/genre/blahblah you want!
Hey everyone.... That amp looks like a helicopter!.... It's even got little people in it! I've gotta get me one of those!