Hey EG!

I have decided to take the happy plunge and pick up my first Electric guitar! I'm a beginner and little of the knowledge I had when I was younger is gone, but I'm excited and can't wait to find the one that says, take me home! Obviously I got some way to go as I'm a beginner, but hey you gotta start somewhere right?For several weeks now (though I've been wanting to do this for a while now) I've been trying to get the lingo down and reading as much as possible to learn the different styles and types of what's available. I've been saving up for this for a little while, it's a Christmas present. I'm going to be making a trip out of town tomorrow to try out a bunch of guitars, I respect all of your opinions so hopefully the stores in the area will carry models you all suggest.

Price range of $800-$1800, that includes an amp, stand, etc.etc. Looking for something new but open to used.
Bands/music prefs... classic, hard rock, alternative... to name some bands, GunsNRoses, Nirvana, the Perfect Circle, Queen, Alice in Chains, (some Metallica too) I also like the Cranberries and others like that as well.

I've been looking at: LP Studio Faded, LP Studio 60's Tribute (or 50's), LP Studio Swirl, & the DBZ Bolero AP Plus. Open to other brands of course!

One that I've been really fancying is the Studio Swirl... it's also more expensive than the $1319.00 models.. (with only a few differences) so I know it's mostly cosmetic price. Being inexperienced and not really having a grasp of pickups yet I can't even say which ones I prefer....

Here are a couple of amps I've been recommended and have been looking at...
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/guitars/marshall-mg-series-mg30cfx-30w-1x10-guitar-combo-amp
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/guitars/fender-g-dec-3-thirty-30w-1x10-guitar-combo-amp

Thanks so much for taking the time to read and any suggestions on what else I can look at would be greatly appreciated.
Last edited by hazeldream at Nov 29, 2011,