A quick background, I've taught myself pretty much everything I know on guitar over the past 4 years or so. This being, the only thing I ever learned was how to be a good rhythm guitarist. If it involves strictly chords, I can learn it, to an extent.

When it comes to anything that involves scales, (or solos of any kind) I couldn't pick the song (no pun intended) if my life depended on it. This being so, I want to learn scales, and thus relating material. However, I know very little music theory. I didn't read music when I was playing an instrument other than guitar, so about the only thing I could tell you is the notes that are used in music. If you give me a minute or two, I could name each fret on the guitar.

While I look for an absolute beginner lesson on scales, I either get overwhelmed by the information or lost within the first few paragraphs. Can anyone either direct me toward a specific lesson here on UG, or give me somewhere to start?

TL;DR: -Absolute- Beginner lesson on scales and the like.
Fender Squier Strat
Fender Frontman 212R
Digitech RP90.
Unknown brand of my bass.
Get started with learning music theory so you view the scales as notes and intervals rather than just shapes and patterns on the fretboard. I'd recommend a book called The Complete Idiot's Guide to Music Theory, but you can probably find some good lessons online. Also, make an effort to know all the notes on the neck quickly, so you can play any scale from any position.

That being said, make sure you also take whatever scales you're learning and try to improvise or write music with them. This will take them out of the context of being "just scales" and help you actually create music; remember that you don't learn scales for the sake of playing scales, you learn scales to help you make music.
Quote by :-D