When I have the pickup selector in all but one position, there is a buzzing through the amp. It isn't too bad, but it is bad enough I want to fix it.

I opened it up, and took a few pictures. It looks like someone has been messing around inside, they did a messy soldering job. The only thing I could find that was unique about the position that worked with no buzz is that both the red and white wire are connected.

The position that works selects pickups 1 and 2 (I started counting from the neck)

I bought this guitar used a few months ago, it always had this issue

I repair vintage home audio equipment, and I'm studying electrical engineering, so I'm confident in my technical skills, but I haven't worked on guitars before.

pictures here:
https://picasaweb.google.com/Raccoon1400/Guitar?authuser=0&feat=directlink
Buzzing eh... I was going to say Ibanez INF pickups are pretty cheap(assuming that's what the guitar uses).

My Ibanez has them and they will get interference from almost anything you can think of, then again it's hard to say without hearing the buzzing ourselves but I think it's just cheap pickups.
even if they are inf pick ups they are quiet if they are humbuckers

but from seeing the pics there thats messy i think the uitar will benefit from new wiring(an pick ups if it does have inf pick ups)
Is it a 60 cycle hum or is it a grounding buzz (does it stop when you touch strings or metal parts of the guitar)?
The position you have that works is essentially making your neck and middle pickups work like the two coils of a humbucker. It is natural for an SSS guitar to be "noisier" in a position that selects only one pickup at a time. Under that theory though you should get the same effect from selecting the bridge and middle at the same time.
Supersac your thinking of the 60 cycle hum, which is what humbuckers prevent. It doesn't mean they prevent all types of interference or noise.