So, i've decided to get a bass as a gift this Christmas. I'm primarily a guitarist (and I'm not a guitarist that thinks bass is easier to play, but anyway) and I was wondering if I could use my boss DS-2 pedal (not the best, I know) with my bass, running it: bass guitar -> DS-2 -> amp.

Forgive me if it's a stupid question, but it was just an idea .

Cheers guys.
You could use it with your bass rig, but it would most likely remove a lot of the low end. There is no harm in using a guitar distortion pedal with bass, but some just don't like the loss in low end frequencies you get from many of these pedals.

Also, just one more thing: If you are planning on getting a bass for christmas, don't run it through a guitar cabinet/combo. The low frequencies will most likely blow your speakers.
Gear:

Fender American Hand Stained stratocaster
Fender 72' Telecaster Deluxe FSR

Squier Vista Venus

Boss TU-3
Boss OD-3
Pro co Rat 2
EHX Big Muff Nano
EHX Small clone
Boss DD7
Hardwire Supernatural

Vox AC30cc1
Blackheart Little Giant stack
I'm sure it would work, but it won't sound good. It probably wouldn't damage the pedal, but you never know. Do you really need that much distortion on a bass? And you aren't considering running it through a guitar amp are you?
My Soundcloud
Always up for some C4C, been compared to Frank Turner, The Cure's Robert Smith and Bruce Springsteen so check out my stuff if you like the sound of that
Quote by Paddy McK
I'm sure it would work, but it won't sound good. It probably wouldn't damage the pedal, but you never know. Do you really need that much distortion on a bass? And you aren't considering running it through a guitar amp are you?

Why repeat verbatim what the other guy said?
Don't worry guys, I'm getting my hands on a bass amp too and thanks for the replies, 'twas just an idea.
I used a DS-1 for bass for a while, and TBH it's not that great. It's on my bro's guitar pedalboard right now. I'd assume the DS-2 would be similar.