So I know that sonatas are usually 3 movement pieces, but can anyone help me here?

Is the first movement the exposition [2nd is development etc], or is the first movement entirely in sonata form?

I've always thought the first movement was in sonata form, but I just need someone to clarify.
Woffelz

Twitter
Youtube
Tumblr

Ibanez RG2550Z/SRX430
Alesis Core 1
BIAS FX

I'm a student. I've got no time or space for an amp!
there is a difference between sonata and sonata form...

Sonata is a musical work multiple parts

Sonata form is a musical structure, generally used as a first movement, like you said... for example, the first movement of Eine Kleine, by Mozart
^Winner. Sonatas are pieces in multiple movements for solo instruments and sonata form can be used to describe, in whole or in part, the form of virtually every first movement of every piece in the Classical period and beyond. In fact, it was initially called first movement form, not sonata form.
and my limited understanding is that the form version is broken up into three parts, not movements.

But i claim no expertise.
Understand nothing, in order to learn everything.

Quote by liampje
I can write a coherent tune ... But 3/4? I play rock, not polka.
Just so you guys can get a bit of my understanding, here is what I know about sonatas and sonata form.

- Three movements.
- The first is usually in sonata form.
- Sonata form has three sections - an exposition, a development and a recapitulation. I think this is what Vampire was trying to say.
- The exposition has a principle subject, a bridge passage, a second subject and a closing subject. The exposition ends in a different key, usually the dominant.
- The development is more free and key changes are used.
- The recapitulation is the same thing as the exposition, except everything is repeated on the home key. There is no modulation.
- At the beginning, there may be a slow introduction and there may be a coda at the end.
Woffelz

Twitter
Youtube
Tumblr