Hi guys, I'm looking at building my own fx pedals (for personal use) but i was wondering how you went about designing the internal of them to somewhat did what.

Hope you will help me better understand.

Thanks
Running through:

Engl Fireball
Engl Slanted Cab
Ibanez Xiphos
Schecter C-1 FR Black
Ibanez GRG (on its way)

Pedals:
Boss Noise Gate, Zakk Wylde Overdrive, Boss Tuner, Zakk Wylde Wah.
Well, this is where an electronics engineering degree comes in real handy. Or, at the very least, a good understanding of electronics and how to build things. Do you know anything about designing transistor circuits? This would be a big help. If not, I suggest you visit your local library and find a book on designing transistor circuits.
Hi mate, I have got a hnc in electrical/electronics, so I have a pretty good understanding of how everything works and what can work together. I also work as a electrical engineer so hopefully it shouldn't be too hard to understand.

Il have a look at the links and hope I can start designing my own pedals after building a few build your own.
Running through:

Engl Fireball
Engl Slanted Cab
Ibanez Xiphos
Schecter C-1 FR Black
Ibanez GRG (on its way)

Pedals:
Last edited by avenge the rage at Dec 1, 2011,
Yes, I've never done one before. I don't design anything at work. Hence why I'm asking. I also don't work in the audio field, I have done transformers, panel wiring and commissioning, not building little electronics.
Running through:

Engl Fireball
Engl Slanted Cab
Ibanez Xiphos
Schecter C-1 FR Black
Ibanez GRG (on its way)

Pedals:
First thing you should look at is how transistors (and maybe FETs) work. Assuming you understand resistors and capacitors you could probably fashion a simple overdrive pedal with a bit of work.
Guitars & Gear:
Parker Nitefly M
Sumer Metal Driver
Ibanez RGD2120Z
AMT SS-11B
Two Notes Torpedo CAB