So, who wants to tell me what musical theory is? Ive heard about it alot, but honestly, I dont know what it is. They are having a music theory UIL thing at my school, im planning on doing it but before I do, I want to know exactly what it is.
It's all that crap that you need to know to play and create music, me thinks. What are scales, chords, minors/majors, octaves, etc, etc, and how to use them, combine them, change them, and basically just everything related.

People, can anyone please suggest a very good (a.k.a. easily understandable) book on guitar on all that crap above? I'm reading articles on UG, but it's just too confusing. They are written for people who are in musical school, I think, because I don't understand half of what is being explained, WHILE the article is trying to explain something. It says "it's like octave", or "it's basically C major" - how the hell a complete newbie suppose to know what those things are?! I just started out, I can already play about 10 songs pretty good, practical stuff isn't as hard as all that theory, and I feel like I need to learn it, because I'm not able to read music properly (except for simple tabs now).

I'm thinking of maybe buying "Guitar for Dummies". Has anyone read that, does it cover all those aspects and will it be enough? I'm not trying to become a musician, I just want to be able to understand when people on YouTube are teaching a song.

Thanks for any tips!
Quote by BurningTurkey
Don't do it. it's just a theory.

So is gravity.

Music theory is the system of notes, scales, chords, and all that good stuff that describes how music works. Some people on this forum think that it's a set of rules that have to be followed, and so they treat it like something evil that you have to avoid, lest you become a slave to the ghost of Bach or something. Learning music theory will make you a better player, since you'll have a better understanding of what you're playing.
But...