Hello guys.

I am new to the "Musician Talk" section of UG, don't spend much time here but i have a question i need answer to.

I thought since Chords and arpeggios are the same thing (just that arpeggios are the notes of the chord played one by one) that since there is chord inversions, there should be arpeggio inversions aswell?

How do these work?

I mean lets say we have a D major chord. If i play a G major 7 arpeggio starting on D what would that be or something like that?

I am not sure at all about this, hence the question.

Ah well, thanks in advance. Don't flame.
Fusion and jazz musician, a fan of most music.

Quote by Guthrie Govan
“If you steal from one person it's theft, and if you steal from lots of people it's research”

Quote by Chick Corea
"Only play what you hear. If you don't hear anything, don't play anything."
Quote by Sickz
Hello guys.

I am new to the "Musician Talk" section of UG, don't spend much time here but i have a question i need answer to.

I thought since Chords and arpeggios are the same thing (just that arpeggios are the notes of the chord played one by one) that since there is chord inversions, there should be arpeggio inversions aswell?

How do these work?

I mean lets say we have a D major chord. If i play a G major 7 arpeggio starting on D what would that be or something like that?

I am not sure at all about this, hence the question.

Ah well, thanks in advance. Don't flame.

There's really not much to it. There are however different shapes depending on where the root note is. These are often called "inversions" but thery're not really inversions. think about it, if you arpeggiate a C chord starting on open the high e you're not really playing an inversion it's just a C arpeggio.
makes sense?
I'll give this a shot.

A G Major 7 chord is formed by G, B, D, and F#. If you want the D, maybe it would work well if you played the 2nd inversion/5th in bass position of the G Major 7 and arpeggiate the same notes but start on the D.