Hi

I started playing bass 3 months ago, and I decided that now was the time to get a new bass.

Most of the time I'm playing things like Metallica, Nirvana, Tool and other in that genre, and I would like a bass with a short distance from the strings to the fretboard.
My budget is around 400-650 dollars. So my question is, any suggestions?

I've looked at the Fender Squire Vintage Modified Jazz Bass:

http://www.fender.com/en-DK/products/search.php/?partno=0326702521
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jvW-fn8m2WA

And also the Epiphone Thunderbird IV Bass:
http://www.epiphone.com/Products/Bass/Thunderbird-IV.aspx
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oaKXNtOaTkU

Thanks alot ! ! xD
The distance of the strings from the fret board is something that can be modified. All you need to do is adjust the action (which is usually necessary when you get a different gauge of strings or when a change of season occurs).

You've been playing for 3 months, unless you've got a piece of crap, I'd save your money for a solid bass amp.

But, OT:
You play grunge/metal, and Tool tends to drop tune. I would recommend standard gauge strings (.050-.110) or standard with a thicker E string, but that could cause some rattle issues.

If you are dead-set on buying a new bass, I'd recommend saving for a Mexican Standard Fender Bass (jazz or p-bass, that's your preference). It's no American, but it's still a great bass.
What currency is that in?

Between those two, the Squier VM Jazz stomps all over the Epi T bird. Actually, a lot of people find that the Vintage Modified and Classic Vibe series Squiers are comparable to most MIM Fender Standard basses. It would be an excellent choice for any beginner or intermediate player.

As for the action (distance between the strings and the fretboard), it's adjustable on pretty much every bass. String height can be adjusted by the bridge, and you can either have it set up for you at a shop, or you can always learn to set it up yourself.
Composite Aficionado