Hi,

Im New to the guitar effects processor world i am thinking of getting either the podHD or Axefx. However, i dont understand how the sound comes out. For amps all you do is plug in guitar and on switch but for these processors im confused with what are the different type of setups i can do to...how should i say...hear the sound?

E.g i know many people like the pod because if your afraid of your neighours complaining about loud guitar noises at night you can just use a earpiece plug it into the pod and hear yourself right? Is this true for all pods like podhd300/podx3/podpro? For the axefx you have to have a poweramp and a cabinet to hear the sound right? If you plug these two processors into a computer how are you going to hear the sound?

Im confused so it would help if someone would give me a beginners guide Also which POD is the best in terms of quality of sound and variety of sounds?
I now have a signature
Last edited by jnsw at Dec 3, 2011,
The AxeFX costs 4 times as much as the POD and is vastly more complicated.

You can use them in a number of ways:

With headphones
Plugged into a power amp, which is plugged into a cab
Directly into the PA
Plugged into a computer
In the effects loop or in front of an amp

And probably more.
Quote by DeathByDestroyr
What the hell is a G&L.

Quote by Flux'D
Gay & Lesbian I think, the box smelled funny
Greg what did you send me??
for headphones - plug guitar into pod, choose amp/effects, plug headphones into headphone jack. rock out.

for live use A - plug guitar into pod, choose amp/effects, plug output of pod into pa system.. Rock out.

for live use B - guitar into pod, make a tone, plug output of pod into power amp, plug poswer amp into cabinet, rock out. (instead of using a power amp+cab you could also plug into a powered speaker or combo amp or half stack or any other means of amp+speaker)