I figured since I've been playing for a few years now I should really make the step up!

Budget: £500-600 (Can push to £700 if it's really necessary).

Genres and Artists: Blues/Hard Rock/Metal/Classic Rock. A few of my favourite bands are GN'R, Whitesnake, Def Leppard, Jane's Addiction and The Darkness. I like a majority of the guitar players in these bands such as Bumblefoot, Phil Collen and Steve Clark. A player who's cleans I really admire is Jeff Buckley. Some favourite albums of mine are Appetite for Destruction, Use Your Illusions I & II, Chinese Democracy, Hysteria, Whitesnake (self-titled), Grace and Nothing's Shocking.

Examples of tones:
3:23 - Love this solo tone!
2:38 - Again, another one I like.
Opening riff.

New or used: I really don't mind. Whatever is going to get me the best amp for the money.

Home or Gig: I aim to start gigging soon but if possible would like to play the amp at home.

Closest City: London.

Current gear: The guitar I'm using is a Squier Telecaster Custom. The amp I'm using is this old carlsbro 30w solidstate with a Boss DS-1 and Marshall SV-1 Chorus pedal.

Edit: Would like 2 channels, Reverb and FX loop if possible.

Hope this all helps!
Last edited by Scott™ at Dec 3, 2011,
i would hit up any local listings for people selling matamp, orange, marshall, hiwatt, sound city, or laney and try them out til i found one i loved.
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae
Well I think back then Vai was using the Carvin 100xb but apart from that they are pretty much all Marshall guys if memory serves. As gumbilicious implied - look for something british voiced. You may be hard pushed to get a vintage JCM800 but maybe a Laney AOR, JCM900, DSL, Sovtek Mig, Bugera 1990. Jet City and Orange would do the trick too.

Are there any features the amp must have? eg. 2 channels, reverb, fx loop etc
Current Gear
-----------------
Washburn WI66 Pro //