Are Vater 5B American Hickory sticks good for learning with? Will they last long?

I'm new to drumming and would love to get an opinion on these sticks.

Also, before anyone asks, I use my school's drum kit because I don't have the space or money to have a kit at home. Also, guitar is my main instrument and I intend on learning the drums casually.
Woffelz

Twitter
Youtube
Tumblr

Ibanez RG2550Z/SRX430
Alesis Core 1
BIAS FX

I'm a student. I've got no time or space for an amp!
Most drummers start on 5A's (Atleast over here in the UK), but whatever is really comfortable to you. As you practice more you'll notice that you can't play as efficiently with your sticks so you'll end up going out and finding a pair that feels better and easier to play with.

But most sticks will last long if you don't slam through your cymbals. Though a point I should make (And one I've only recently started noticing) is when the tip of your stick starts to chip and wear out, replace them because they will make your cymbals sound dull.
But yeah, most sticks will last long enough unless you're John Fred Young (Drummer of Black Stone Cherry) and go through about 10 pairs a gig/concert.
Neo Evil11
Quote by jambi_mantra
They let black people on Fox now?

They also let white people into the KFC and the NBA now.
Any stick's fine starting off, really... I used Vic Firth Gregg Bissonette signatures since those were just what I had, which are pretty beefy. I would be surprised if you had any problems with them breaking, because actually breaking a stick is pretty uncommon unless you have bad technique or play rimshots like mad, I usually just replace them whenever the ones I'm using are especially beat up and I can afford to do so.
Those should be fine.

Sticks will last a long time, if your cymbals are setup properly and you're hitting them at a glancing blow, instead of slicing them at the edge.