Page 1 of 2
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bBOMZBxQAjc

I'm new to it, so its a total newb question; straight up "Punk" isn't it, because if I go on last.fm and enter that, all it gives me is bands like Black Flag and The Ramones, which I'm not crazy about. I'm being real picky, so I'll just tell you what I like about the song and then I'll scram

- Its not that super fast tempo drums you hear. I hate those, its just got its own drum beat and I really like that.

- Its not a riff that consists of 2-3 power chords. Sure there are some, and power chords aren't evil by any stretch, but when it gets as repetitive as the Ramones, I lose interest.

- The solo is pretty cool

- Its a vocal melody; someone not screaming "Rise above, we're gonna rise above" with some lick in between there.

Am I being way to picky? Probably. But can I have a few recommendations of bands to? As long as its not emo, lol.

*PS* IF anyone says its grunge, lock your doors. Its the most overused, loose term to describe songs. I've heard all the grunge bands anyway, lol.

Thanks.
There's room for all of God's creatures; Right next to the mashed potatoes.
... but it is grunge... I understand what you mean by saying that grunge is overused but sometimes it's used completely appropriately. One of my favorite genres is emo (true emo like Fugazi, Embrace, Husker Du, etc) but what immediately comes to most people's minds is the fruitcore of the mid 2000's, that doesn't mean emo shouldn't be used as a label period. Otherwise I think the closest thing that would describe this is hardcore. Bands like leftover crack and youth of today have a very similar sound.
Last edited by BoxCarRacer1 at Dec 5, 2011,
It's grunge, bro.