I am new to chord progressions, and i just wanted to understand them.(i apologize for the lengthy post) I understand how a major scale if constructed (root note- w- w- h- w- w -w h). I understand that the 1st, 4th and 5th are all major chords, the second, third and sixth are minor chords, and 7th one is diminished.

For example:

D-E-F#-G-A-B-C#-D

That means that the chords are D major, E minor, F#minor, G major, A major, B minor, C# Diminished and D

Ok i understand this, and if we take the D major scale, than the I IV V progression would be D major, G major and A major. My Question is how to be substuitute minor chords when writing a progression?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZQ_JAgHxR14

for example in the above song, it goes Aminor, G major, D and C for the verse. What key is this song in?

What kind of progression is being used in the verse and in the chorus?
you could use other chords in the major scale like in d you could play D-em-G- etc. you just use chords in the key you can use chords outside of the key but that takes a bit more practice and experimantation

the am-G-D-C progression is in G
goes
ii-I-V-IV
Quote by hhhhdmt
I am new to chord progressions, and i just wanted to understand them.(i apologize for the lengthy post) I understand how a major scale if constructed (root note- w- w- h- w- w -w h). I understand that the 1st, 4th and 5th are all major chords, the second, third and sixth are minor chords, and 7th one is diminished.

For example:

D-E-F#-G-A-B-C#-D

That means that the chords are D major, E minor, F#minor, G major, A major, B minor, C# Diminished and D

Ok i understand this, and if we take the D major scale, than the I IV V progression would be D major, G major and A major. My Question is how to be substuitute minor chords when writing a progression?

for example in the above song, it goes Aminor, G major, D and C for the verse. What key is this song in?

You can use the 2, 3, 6 degrees of the scale. They are minor chords.