Hi pit,

I'm currently in my 2nd year of a 3 year music degree in the UK. So I'm having to start thinking seriously about my future. I decided long ago i wanted to teach and having lived in the US all summer and with everything about the UK pissing me off, I want to live in the US permanently. This isn't a knee-jerk, I've dallied with the idea since a young-ish age and the summer made my mind up.

I intend to finish my degree, have a summer working in England then move over in September 2013 and stay with a friend. Hopefully for around 6 months, and I'll hopefully pick up a job.

Now my real question is, how would I go about becoming a teacher? Like, how do you get certified/get qualifications with a UK degree. I'm looking at a college in PA/NY/NJ/MA ideally.

Thanks
Well first, the easiest jobs to nail (they're always in demand) are math and science. I highly recommend teaching in either of those fields. As far as getting in without connections already established, I'm not so sure. My best bet would be to get into contact with school districts around the area you plan to move to.
Your degree isn't gonna mean much when you come here to live in the 1st world. Sorry, mate.
Check out my band Disturbed
I'm not entirely sure how it works for public schools, but I do know that private schools can hire whoever they want regardless of education or credentials or whatever (this doesn't happen a lot but my old high school did this with one of the teachers I had). Though the pay you'd get from a school that would do that would be even suckier than most teaching pays.
R.I.P. M.C.A.
Tweet at me bro
lushacrous loves you
Quote by blake1221
Don't be ludicrous, lushacrous.
Quote by Gunpowder
that joke regarding your username was NOT originally posted by blake1221. That was a Gunpowder original.

I INVOKE SOPA TO SMITE YE FOR THIS FALSEHOOD.
Do you need to go to university again to get accredited?