Hey, I currently have a JB Player acoustic-electric. It's an alright guitar, but you have to wear your fingers out when you try to play notes and chords to make the buzz go away. Also, the sound is only about a 6/10 quality to me. However, it only costed about $160 so what can I expect... I'm looking for an acoustic (can be regular or electric), it needs to be no more than $800. Can anyone give me some suggestions, since I'm not familiar with acoustic brands at all.
I really dislike recommending a brand I have never tried before, but suggest you check out Blueridge, they have an very good reputation, and I was very impressed by some of the online demos I have heard, their tone does remind me of Martins and do fit within your price range. Just as importantly, the resident guitar acoustic expert here, Patticake speaks very well of them, and many people here, including myself, have high regard for her opinions, hopefully she will drop by and offer you a little more detail on what model may best suit your needs, or she may even suggest a different brand.
I'm the only player to be sponsered by 7 guitar companies not to use their products.
martin doesn't own quality - there are lots of good quality guitar brands out there. try eastman, blueridge, the guild GAD series - really great quality - and recording king. i own a blueridge, and it's an amazing sounding and very well built guitar. that being said, i've seen some that had minor finish issues or that didn't sound quite as good as mine. they didn't sound bad, mind you - they're awesome guitars, and you can get an all solid model with an adi top for under your top price http://www.maurysmusic.com/blueridge_solid_body_guitars?cmx=52957&start=0

here's the guild GAD's.
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/search/search.jsp?sB=r&question=GUild+GAD