I have a question regarding the Pentatonic scale. Theres a small difference in between what the major and minor pentatonic scales are right? I can't remember them off the top of my head. But say I'm playing a Am pentatonic. Could I play that Am pentatonic in the key of A major? Would that work with the Am pentatonic extension?
Yep. It's done all the time in Blues, and more.... and what do you mean by extension?
Minor pentatonic usually don't fit in A major. It can work, but I rarely do it.
to me it sounds OK unless the song is really emphasizing the major key, then ill jump to the major pentatonic - I just move my pattern down one and a half steps.
Quote by mdc
Yep. It's done all the time in Blues, and more.... and what do you mean by extension?

The pentatonic extension.
I just wrote a new song and put the key as Am and played the pentatonic Am over Am G C F Am. seems to sound good. I am new to putting scales in certain keys. thanks
Quote by Urban7

This term doesn't mean anything to anyone here, what on earth are you on about? BE SPECIFIC DAMMIT.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
Quote by Urban7
I just wrote a new song and put the key as Am and played the pentatonic Am over Am G C F Am. seems to sound good. I am new to putting scales in certain keys. thanks

I'm with Zaphod here, I have no idea what you're on about.

To answer your original question, the difference between the major pentatonic and the major pentationic is, suprisingly, that the major pentatonic is derived from the major scale whilst the minor pentatonic is derived from the natural minor scale.