For starters let me just say that I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to amplifiers. Its embarrassing to say I own an Marshall MG halfstack (was pressured in to buying it, long story...). I joined a band recently and we plan to play most modern metal like 5FDP, All That Remains, Killswitch, etc. all the while recording our own stuff similar sounding to those bands.

Anyways I'm fed up with the rancid tone thats coming out of this thing, and I plan to sell it and start anew. I'm thinking of looking along the lines of a Randall RM100 or something along the Randall line, as that seems to be the only amp that really impresses me that is within my budget range for a new amp. Does anyone have any past experience with this amp or anything on the Randall line, and is it a good choice?

I also wanted to know if a Line 6 POD would be a good cheaper alternative for improving my tone. I have little to none understanding as to what it is really but I'm guessing its a huge preamp in itself and just uses your amp as a speaker? Forgive me if I sound incredibly noobish right now...but thanks in advance to anyone who replies.
I'll just throw out my two cents. The Randall amps on the lower end are average at best. The RM series (modular) are very good and highly versatile. The variety of modules cover pretty much anything for electric guitar. The modular design is OEM'd from Egnater Amplification. Have you played one or only watched clips or what? What modules were you thinking of? It seems like a good choice in the $1,000 range used. Is that the range you are in?

What is your budget?

The Pod series in general are pretty good but again it depends on what you are looking for exactly. Pocket Pod, for example, is different than Pod Farm which is different than the Pod HDs. Again, it depends on what your budget is.

And don't worry about the MG and the noob status, we all have to start somewhere.

We can def help - but we need some more info from you.
Quote by 311ZOSOVHJH