Sup UG?
Been awhile since I've posted. My whole guitar playing career so far has basically been like this.

Ibanez RG > OD > NS-2 > 5150 2x12 for "the brootz" ppl say. I'm still in a metal band that plays shows regularly but I want to start expanding my horizons on guitar and start picking up different styles.

Now, recently my music taste has changed and I've been listening to a lot of TOOL, A Perfect Cirlce, God Is An Astronaut etc. More mellow bands I guess you can say who just put out walls of sound textures. I'm looking for advice on which amp to get that can take a lot of pedals obviously but has a decent clean tone as well as a decent overdriven sound. Not overdriven like say my 5150 but more of a rock tone I guess. At least 2 channels and has to be loud enough for gigs unmic'd. Now on to the pedals. I'm a newb to pedals other than my OD and NS. What are some "essential" pedals to have to create different sounds? By different I mean like "eerie", kind of hard to explain. Billy from A Perfect Circle plays around with a bunch of sounds that I love.
On to the guitar! All I currently have is Ibanez RG "metal" guitars and am looking into a new guitar for my new stlye. I am fond of the Les Paul shaped bodies and would love to get one. I was thinking Agile AL-3000 or Epiphone possibly?

I live in Ontario, Canada.
Closest major city is probably Toronto.
My budget for the guitar, amp AND a couple pedals is about $1600 (CDN)
I would prefer new but am not afraid to go used.

So really I'm just looking for some input that I can use to make a good decision about my new gear. I really know nothing about lower gaing stuff/effects so any advice is good advice!

Thanks, Steve
Ibanez RGR421EXFM >> Maxon OD808 >> BOSS NS-2 >> Peavey 5150 212
Last edited by DroptuneD at Dec 9, 2011,