Hey guys.. So i have been playing guitar for a couple of years on and off.. but never really practised any techniques or anything.. purely just learnt songs from tabs and played along.. now I haven't really got any better and have hit the wall so to speak.. The level i am up to is playing some of the easier Metallica solos such as fade to black intro solo and nothing else matters.. which is pretty woeful considering how long I have been playing.. So my question is what kind of structure should I bring to my guitar playing to increase my overall skill.. What should I focus on and where should I look for the info ill need to start..

Thanks in advance and apologies if this is in the wrong thread
Quote by srq89
yeah easily, I took on one of my uncles who's suppose to be the strongest in the family and has the hottest wife. Tamed him like my bitch and then wacked off afterward thinking about his wife.

All in all, a very productive day.
play those songs that you like, maybe take harder metallica songs and learn from them. try creating your own songs and always push yourself to the limit. when i was playing with a friend we couldn't play our new songs for like 1 week after finishing them because they are too hard at the time.
to increase your overall playing you need speed, try learning master of puppets. if you want to play other genres try tranquil by darkest hour, that song taught me alot.
speaking about techniques alternate picking might be the most important to learn and if you like metal maybe sweep picking eventually
these are few cents from my experience, hope it helped
Honestly, in my opinion, the best way to get better at something is to enjoy doing it. What do you want to be able to do on your guitar? Do you want to be able to play along with songs, write your own songs, be able to jam with friends or all of the above?
It's much easier once you know what your goal is tbh.