So I am completely new to recording. Actually, that's not true. I've recorded with my old band, but my guitarists had all the gear and handled everything. But for the most part, I am new to recording. I don't have any recording gear (save for a DigiTech JamMan looper that I can save onto my computer), and I with Christmas coming up, I figured that I can get the basics.

I have Audacity, GarageBand, and JamManager (the free software for my looper), but I don't have any microphones, interfaces, etc. So what gear do I need to completely get from point A (my amp with no direct output) to point B (having a file in my iTunes account that I can put on my iPod)? And could it cost under/around $300?

Thanks!

Quote by dullsilver_mike
The resonant frequency of the clitoris is too low for the guitar players to take care of.

Quote by jackers1234
you sir, have just won for this statement. =D

Young Knees
Focusrite Saffire 6 and a Shure SM57 (or SM58, which is the same as the 57, just with a windscreen) is the best interface/mic setup you can get in that price range. The Fast Track mentioned above is okay, but it has very poor mic preamps in comparison to the Saffire and a Beta 57A is just silly. The only thing the Beta 57A sounds better on is drums IMO, and even then, it's not worth the $40 extra over the SM57.

There's a Saffire 6 on eBay right now at $99 with a little over an hour left:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/FOCUSRITE-SAFFIRE-6-USB-DIGITAL-AUDIO-SOUND-INTERFACE-DJ-RECORDING-/190610957106?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2c614c6332#ht_2387wt_1197

You might get a steal!

You can also get the demo model for $150:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/SAFFIRE-6-USB-COMPUTER-INTERFACE-LEGENDARY-FOCUSRITE-SOUND-BEST-DEAL-AVAILABLE-/200685006879?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2eb9c2301f#ht_2615wt_1185

Or a brand new one for $170:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Focusrite-Saffire-6-USB-Audio-Interface-PROAUDIOSTAR-/300632301489?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item45ff14dfb1#ht_10517wt_1195