Guys, I've been playing for coming up on 13 years, and I want to learn to sweep. I'm an average guitar player I suppose, maybe slightly better than average. But I cannot get this sweeping thing down past the most baaasic of patterns, and even then, only on the down stroke.

Is it just this hard to learn? Is there some damn trick I'm missing? I've been trying to learn the intro to My Will Be Done by Unearth, ad its simple enough. I watched the video and tabbed it out exactly the way he plays it, and I understand the shapes and patterns, but I cannot do this crap. I've been at it for 3 days now.
It is only practice practice practice, so slowly, with metronomo, 10 to 20 minutes for day, or each 2 days, I guess it is the form more easy for me
Keep practicing! I've been sweeping for a few months (rusty Cooley 6 string shapes), and i still can't play them fast. Just takes time!
Michael Kelly Patriot limited
Michael Kelly Vex nv
PRS CE24

Tube Screamer
Zakk wylde od
Boosta Grande
Crybaby

Valve Jr
Peavey Windsor
Fender Blues Jr NOS
2x12 cab GBack

Bugera V22
Carvin Legacy

Vintage Rogers Drumset
Pearl ELX
you have played for 13 years and haven't tried sweeping yet? o:
Anyways, the guitarist is also tapping, so keep that in mind. If you have problems sweeping upwards, then it's pretty much all matter of practice. Since combining left and right hand correctly is almost everything you need to master to be good at sweeping (the other half is muting so it doesn't sound like shit).
But please try to be more specific about your problem!
Quote by JB95
you have played for 13 years and haven't tried sweeping yet? o:
Anyways, the guitarist is also tapping, so keep that in mind. If you have problems sweeping upwards, then it's pretty much all matter of practice. Since combining left and right hand correctly is almost everything you need to master to be good at sweeping (the other half is muting so it doesn't sound like shit).
But please try to be more specific about your problem!