Hey so by after Christmas, I'm looking to be able to replace my rp355 with a pedal setup, and was wondering what ones are generally good or not, for what i want.

I'm new to individual pedals, and one thing I don't want is over saturated "UBER GAINY FIZZY METAL ULTRA TONE" or whatever. I'm looking for a good modern rock tone, that doesn't have a ton of fizz on it. Look up Relient K, something like the tone of that, maybe a little more gain sometimes. I've checked out some boss pedals, and they just seem... beginner like? even the expensive ones feel and look "cheap". The Digitech Hardwire valve distortion looks really nice, and sounds pretty good, but it looks like it might sound digitally compared to others, I couldn't tell at first though.

Also, I'm going to be getting a tube amp soon (Jet City 22h? Blackstar ht20? carvin v3m? Vox AC15?) so should I get an overdrive in preparation for getting a nice amp? I still might be using the pedals without the amp live though.

So basically ill be looking into OD/Dist/Delay/Reverb/ and stuff. so what brands are known to sound very nice/modern and not very tone killing?

sorry for rambling a little
~~~...:::My Gear:::...~~~
~.:.ESP LTD H-1001FM.:.~
~.:.Peavey Vypyr 15W.:.~
~.:.DigiTech RP355.:.~
~.:.Roland MicroCube.:.~
I recently delved into the same situation so I'd like to think I have a lot of good credibility here. We have very similar tastes too, I don't really like the Boss pedals either. You're gonna find that there are a myriad of pedals out there at random prices with random names with random sounds. So many in fact, that its nearly impossible to get a good solid recommendation. The best way is to just research them yourself. Go into a store and try out every pedal that appeals to you, even if its just because its in a pretty color. Another great idea is to look around online and see what gear your favorite artists use, they're usually very easy to find. For instance, here is the rig Matt Hoopes uses: