Hey guys, i really want to learn how to shred, create fast nice sounding solos but i do not know where to start. Are there any books that may be able to help me? or can anyone help me?

Thanks!
Maybe utilize what info is already on the forum instead of making a whole new thread?

BEST tips and tricks that helped me:

relax.

use the very tips of your fingers.

don't touch frets too hard.

look ahead of time where your fingers are going.

Start covering simpler songs and work your way up.

warm up by hitting 4 consecutive frets one by one using all your fingers. alternate strings too. this helps A LOT with dexterity and eventually speed.
Theory and good technique. Start with a metronome too.
Woffelz

Twitter
Youtube
Tumblr

Ibanez RG2550Z/SRX430
Alesis Core 1
BIAS FX

I'm a student. I've got no time or space for an amp!
Quote by ghghggh
Hey guys, i really want to learn how to shred, create fast nice sounding solos but i do not know where to start. Are there any books that may be able to help me? or can anyone help me?

Thanks!

Do you want to shred so you can use your aquired speed sparingly to up the intensity of a solo and take the song to new heights ?

Listen to Gary Moore, Joe Satriain, Adrian Smith, Steve Vai, Randy Rhodes, Tony Iommi etc. Analyse and learn their solos.

Or

Do you want to shred so you can play a million notes per second and treat the guitar like it's some kind of speed sport ?

Listen to Rusty Cooley and Michael Angelo Batio.
TS, are you talking about just learning to play fast or play actual shred music? I could type a wonderful long response for you, but I just want to know which it is you're referring to.
Quote by mrbabo91
Do you want to shred so you can use your aquired speed sparingly to up the intensity of a solo and take the song to new heights ?

Listen to Gary Moore, Joe Satriain, Adrian Smith, Steve Vai, Randy Rhodes, Tony Iommi etc. Analyse and learn their solos.