Page 1 of 2
Like the title says why did you start playing and what makes you continue to play?

A year after I started listening to A7X I started playing. I wanted to solo and shred. I didn't really do any beginner stuff I just jumped in at the deep end. After about a year I could and all I do now when I play is run scales really fast and I love it.

I have been playing since July 2008, I guess my goal now is what it always has been increase my technical proficiency. I haven't really started to develop any real musical understanding. It would be nice to be able to learn songs by ear/tell what key a song is in.

What about you guys? It would be interesting to hear, especially if anyone's goals changed dramatically.

EDIT: I forgot to mention I only play for fun I have never gigged or been in a band and have no intention to. I have only jammed with someone once. Although I like to Shred it's not to try prove anything or show off.
Last edited by MegadethFan18 at Dec 12, 2011,
My goal in playing was to register for a guitar forum so I could express doubt about people's claims of being able to shred after one year of playing.
I can't remember really, I just began picking up the guitar a few times a couple years ago after not touching it for a year. Soon I got good at it and right now I consider myself to be fairly decent at guitar (I'm in the process of learning to sweep now).

If I had to give a reason for why I play now, I guess probably because I just have nothing else to do. Being in a famous metal or rock band would just be bliss for me. Right now I'm not as motivated because I don't have a band and I have no idea how to go about finding one. I still haven't experienced a real gig (so far I've only performed at my school talent show). I also still haven't acquired my dream rig (Mesa Dual Rectifier, USA Jackson King V and Gibson Les Paul) and won't for years come.
West Ham United
Quote by :-D