how do u know if youre really doing something of value or just being an ass?

admit it; whenever you first put on new strings and you play your guitar before tuning it up, you find sounds you like. and if you focused on it you could find things you find complimentary to those atypical sounds. and if you put something together of those sounds in some manner you think works, youd end up with a unique sounding song. but how do you know if what you create is good or not?

im guessing the composer cannot care what the answer to this questions is, and just know that what was made is something of value in a personal way. but u dont need to be good to do that. i suppose you just play what you like and say "nuts to the rest". *writing questions helps think of an answer

im no art expert, so what say yall?
I once hit a man in Dearborn. Michigan. A hit and run. I hit him and just kept on goin. I don't know if he's alive or dead. But I'm sorry. Not a day goes by i don't see his face.
What? I don't think you can compare being avant garde ith "being an ass." It's not like you're one or the other...

Your example is what, alternate tunings? A lot of musicians specifically detune their guitars to get different sounds and have been for MANY years, I wouldn't call that avant garde by any means. Maybe atypical with regard to popular music.

As for quality of the work you produce, we have to assume that the composer is turning out work that was conscientiously created that is to say they aren't attempting to make something of poor quality. I think for the most part you need that belief that composers are turning out work they consider to be quality and therefor in some respects should be considered "good." Whether these pieces actually have artistic value in the grand scheme of things is hard to determine. Good is such a subjective term, we just have evidence of what is still in the repertoire today.
Winner of the 2011 Virginia Guitar Festival

Protools HD
Lynx Aurora 16/HD192