How do I do it damnit? So far im studying major, minor, and pentatonic scale patters.....but how do I throw them together and make it sound good? but more importantly

HOW DO I MOVE THESE POSITIONS AROUND THE FRET BOARD IN ORDER TO BUST OUT AWESOME SOLOS ALL OVER THE PLACE?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YgqqyoVmHa4&feature=related

Look what this guy is doing. My understanding is its simply a pentatonic scale all over the fretboard! How does he do this? Is he taking the root of the scale and switching it to different octaves all over the guitar? Is it random? Please enlighten me!
first of all, learn all the notes on the fretboard
also, ear training
learning songs and solos by other people can't be bad

and practice, practice, practice
guy above is right.
In addition to that you should just try to study music theory in genral, since not only the minor pentatonic sound cool. If you know most of the theory stuff, then you should practice patters so you aren't limited by your technique to pull off your ideas.
Quote by Go0ber
How do I do it damnit? So far im studying major, minor, and pentatonic scale patters.....but how do I throw them together and make it sound good? but more importantly

You sound good by practicing the scales in a musical setting, such as with a backing track or just noodling around by yourself. Understanding the scales is fine, but they're just tools to help you create music.
Quote by Go0ber
HOW DO I MOVE THESE POSITIONS AROUND THE FRET BOARD IN ORDER TO BUST OUT AWESOME SOLOS ALL OVER THE PLACE?

Do you know the notes of the fretboard?

Quote by Go0ber

Look what this guy is doing. My understanding is its simply a pentatonic scale all over the fretboard! How does he do this? Is he taking the root of the scale and switching it to different octaves all over the guitar? Is it random? Please enlighten me!