Hi guys and girls, I'm not very good with amps so I'd like to ask what could be a silly or void question.

I've got a Laney VC30-112. I like it, but it needs a bit more beef. I've got the right tone I want but that shape drowns under the sound of drums and bass at gigs.

I'm playing a Fender Telecaster '72 Custom on with an effects chain that includes a BOSS OD-3, MD-2 and MT-2 for different dynamics. I'm going for a Biffy Clyro, Foo Fighters, dynamic sound. I run the amp on clean, with stock insides. I tend to stick the the single-coil bridge PU.

My question: is getting a Laney GS210 a stupid idea? I ask because the a larger 12 inch speaker will be sitting on top of two spikier sounding 10 inch speakers. Will the position of the speakers cancel each other out and create a mess of noise, or will it get me exactly what I'm looking for?

I'm struggling to find somewhere to test my theory without actually buying the thing, so any feedback anyone has will be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks
It wont cause any problems (and as far as I'm aware the extra cab will disengage the stock 12 anyway...) and it should add some girth, but you're much better off saving your money and replacing the rather poor stock speaker and valves first and maybe buying an EQ pedal for the loop. This is what I'm gonna do soon, JJ's and maybe a celestion classic lead 80.

Also it's probably not helped by using a bridge single coil pup, that's always gonna be thin (EDIT: Sorry it's a tele not a strat, perhaps not, I'm used to a rather weak bridge pup) And have you tried boosting the OD channel with a good OD/distortion rather than running everything through the clean?

Also, when you say the "shape drowns" at gig volumes, do you mean your struggling for volume? Or you're not getting your bedroom tone? Because it's always gonna sound different at gig levels, you need to adjust and fill only your frequency range. But if you've not got the volume (which I doubt) then you simply need more power.