I am an intermediate player. I have been playing for about 3-5 months. I play most types of rock, and hope to one day play metal -- such as Killswitch Engage and In Flames. But, I'm still in my Stone Sour / Audioslave play skill. I'm looking for a guitar that looks good, sounds good, and will last through my evolving skill. I'm playing through a 15W Peavey Vypyr right now, and have no pedal. I am hoping to get both a new guitar and a decent pedal for Christmas, for around 800-900 together. Can you give me some pointers? I currently own an Ibanez Art 100 and I absolutely hate it.
Last edited by Manshack at Dec 14, 2011,
***What do you dislike about your current gear?***

Pedals and solid state 15w amp w multifx= waste of time.

Playing 3-5 months you are not intermediate.

Not trying to put you down, but you are a beginner.
Yeah, I'll give you that. I'm just saying, better than most 3-5 month players. I learn extremely fast. It's not a waste of time if I am switching in the middle of the song. -_- Would you recommend a better amp? My Guitar doesn't have good playability and it sounds like crap on a stick. I have friends come over that play with me. I play on their guitar a lot of the time, because they are friendlier? I guess you could say. They are easier to play, easier to fret, sound better, easier to hold.
Ok, I thought you meant effects.
I dont need instant tone switching other then from cleans to dirt, so someone else can help you with that.
Try to find a used ibanez prestige. Fantastic playing guitars for metal, shread and leads in general. My 1570 was 600$ before the bkp pickups (320$). They resell cheap and are worth every penny for the meticulous qc the japanese do.