Hey guys so I recently did a mix with drums for the first time and I was wondering what you guys think of it. I'm still a pretty basic beginner at recording and mixing so I'm not sure how it sounds to those with "trained" ears haha. Anyways, I actually made two versions because I thought the guitars on the first version were too loud but then I kinda made the guitars in the second version a bit too soft I think haha.

Here's the links:

http://soundcloud.com/mr-potato-1/harder-to-breathe-instrumental

http://soundcloud.com/mr-potato-1/harder-to-breathe-instrument
Current/Main Gear
'06 MIA Fender Stratocaster
'97 Epiphone Les Paul Standard Lim. Ed.
'90s Peavey Classic 30
H&K Tubemeister 18
MXR 404 CAE Crybaby
Ibanez TS9
Ernie Ball Jr. Volume
Digitech Hardwire DL-8
TC Electronic Nova Repeater
Pretty good overall. I'm not a huge fan of the drum tones themselves, but they're mixed pretty well. The snare doesn't really hit all that hard which takes away from the punch of the guitar/bass riff, so if you find a tighter, punchier snare I think your overall sound will improve.

Also the drum performance could be a little bit more driving. It sounds like the drummer might be half asleep (although I think you made them with addictive drums?). It's amazing how much a mix can improve when the performance is spot on.

And the guitars sound mixed better in version 2! (solo might be a little much though)
Solid first attempt!
I (still, after everything) believe in Billy Corgan.
Quote by MoFly41
Pretty good overall. I'm not a huge fan of the drum tones themselves, but they're mixed pretty well. The snare doesn't really hit all that hard which takes away from the punch of the guitar/bass riff, so if you find a tighter, punchier snare I think your overall sound will improve.