Hey I would consider myself an amateur guitarist.
I am currently looking for a guitar ranging between £500 and £700
That is basically $700 to $1000
Typing that I am going to buy a $1000 guitar does seem maybe out of place because I have stated that I am an amateur, but I would like a good quality guitar that will last.

I live in Scotland, so American vendors arent exactly an option.

I listen and play to 80s hair metal, grunge, and general heavy metal too.
So basically whitesnake, motley crue, alice in chains, nirvana, steel panther, megadeth, ratt, dokken, GWAR, iron maiden... you get the idea)

I was thinking of looking for a model with a fixed bridge so I can more easily change between 1 step down, 2 step down, and Drop D tunings etc... and use my Ibanez RG420 for standard tuning needs. FOR NOW. This will change in the future probably.

I looked into some strats and fixed bridge ibanez, and some shecters. The reviews on UG seem torn between those that actually own them and those who have just played them and hated them, so I thought i'd make a topic.

Sorry for such a big post, I wanted to provide you guys with decent info!
Any recommendations would be appreciated.
Thanks!
~ Jory
Quote by jjp93
Hey I would consider myself an amateur guitarist.
I am currently looking for a guitar ranging between £500 and £700
That is basically $700 to $1000
Typing that I am going to buy a $1000 guitar does seem maybe out of place because I have stated that I am an amateur, but I would like a good quality guitar that will last.

I live in Scotland, so American vendors arent exactly an option.

I listen and play to 80s hair metal, grunge, and general heavy metal too.
So basically whitesnake, motley crue, alice in chains, nirvana, steel panther, megadeth, ratt, dokken, GWAR, iron maiden... you get the idea)