Hey guys, my krank rev jr halstacks effects loop is giving me shit. And i mean EXACTLY that. I get this great, amazing, bone crushing metal tone by boosting the tubes with my mxr wylde OD in front of the amp, and then i go to engage the loop with a little bit of chorus, and instantly, my tone turns to shit. I unplug the send and return cables, and my great tone is back.....WTF?!?!?!?!? This is my first time using a loop, and i really really REALLY hope that all effects loops arent like this, because i too would like to get the most out of my delays,choruses,flangers,phasers,etc etc, while stile retaining my good tone that i love while the loop is off.

This specific loop is active, which is a total pain in the ass. No foootswitch to turn it off or on. Krank rev jr pro halfstack, an otherwise amazing amp. I called the guys at krank, and they werent very helpful. So i was hoping that one of you guys mightve been able to. The tone, when the loop is engaged, loses all definition and balls, theres even an effects volume, and a boost, but it doesnt help with retaining my awesome tone that i acquired whilst the loop was off. Is this because when the loop is engaged, only the power/post amp tubes are working??? And the overdrive being used in the preamp is being cut off?

Do you guys understand where im comin from? I just want to have my cake and eat it too. I want to be able to engage the effects loop of any amp im playing that has one every once in a while when i need it, and i want to have the great tone that i had before i engaged it while using it as well.

Please help. It might just be that my amp has a shitty loop. The guys at peavey told me that if i engage the 6505+ effects loop, nothing in my tone will change. Itll just change if i activate the effects pedals in the loop that i want to use.

Once again, youre input is much appreciated. I tried to word this shitstorm as best i could. Thanks for your patience, and words of wisdom. -DeathShredder