first off i am mainly a guitarist (electric six string), i know guitars very well but do not know all that much about basses.

i had an old 80's washburn bass that was butchered that i picked up for $40. i gave it to a friend of mine as he didn't have anything to play on, and it was collecting dust in my studio.

please excuse ignorance in advance.

i do have a decent bass amp (if i were to guess) its a Genz Benz M-Line 200 combo with tweeter.

however, now i am starting to do some recording and i don't have a bass.

it needs to be pretty versatile, able to tackle metal and be able to play blues as well.

i am not really all that concerned about the feel of the neck, as i know i will have to do some adapting, but that shouldn't be an issue.

the most important thing for me is that it is solid and well built. if need be i am more than capable of changing pickups, etc.

i don't really have a firm budget but i would like to keep it low, as i have a pretty big shopping list for the next three months.

i do not want new unless it is an insane deal. i am more than happy with used gear.

<$350? maybe a little bit higher if it was something amazing.

also, what/why do most heavier bands do as far as more of a distorted bass or a clean tone for metal?
WTLT 2014 GG&A

Quote by andersondb7
alright "king of the guitar forum"

Quote by trashedlostfdup
nope i am "GOD of the guitar forum" i think that fits me better.

Quote by andersondb7
youre just being a jerk man.

****** NEW NEW NEW!
2017-07-07 2017-07-07 Update and a Chat On Noise Constraints *** NEW FRIDAY 7/7
2017-04-13 RUN AWAY from COMPUTERS!!! TCE? RANT ALERT!!!
2017-03-02 - Guitar Philosophy 1001- Be Prepared For the Situation (Thursday 2017-03-02)
2017-02-21 How to Hot-Rod the Hell of your Stratocaster for $50! (Tuesday 2017-2-21)
Resentments and Rambling from a Guitar Junkie
---> http://trashedengineering.blogspot.com/
Take a look at the Squier VM Jazz:

"Maybe this world is another planet's hell?" - Aldous Huxley